The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

★★★☆☆

I’d always hated Lizzie, and her vanishing didn’t change that.

Lizzie Lovett is missing and Hawthorn Creely needs to know what happened. Hawthorn doesn’t even really like Lizzie, but that’s exactly the point – how could a girl so beautiful, so popular, so happy, just disappear? The girls went to high school together, but Lizzie was a senior when Hawthorn was a freshman, so it has been years since they crossed paths. Lizzie had moved on after graduating, left town to live with a 20-something-year-old boyfriend, Enzo, a hipster artist type with a crappy apartment and no car. This new Lizzie was so different from the Lizzie that Hawthorn knew, and if she could morph to a different person, maybe she really hadn’t disappeared but turned into a werewolf and left her human life behind. Hawthorn takes on Lizzie’s life, working her old job, dating her old boyfriend Enzo, while trying to figure out what makes Lizzie better and what makes them the same.

laura-homecoming-portrait1

Lizzie Lovett, the new Laura Palmer.

I’ll be honest, I enjoyed The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett, and if I read this book at fourteen years old, I would have enjoyed it even more. It reminded me of a teenager’s Gone Girl, with the beautiful, mysterious missing woman, the life of questions, the brooding boyfriend/husband, the different identities. Sedoti has a great talent for writing multifaceted characters and natural dialogue, which immediately drew me in.

The most impressive part of the book is the main character, Hawthorn. Already I’ve been seeing reviewers say how relatable she is, but that is not what I like about her. What I find impressive is that I don’t like her. Well, at least I didn’t at the beginning of the book. She started off as being a petty, selfish jackass. She pitied herself, drowned in her own low self-esteem, and went around being bitter, closed off, and angry. As she investigates what happens to Lizzie, she lets herself be vulnerable and leaves her teenage bubble, opens to experiences and changes. That’s where it gets interesting.  She grows, which makes her human and therefore relatable. I could picture myself doing, or wanting to do what she did when I was a teenager, like following a mystery, getting a job and dating an older, artistic guy.

That said, I thought that Hawthorn’s response to finding out what happened to Lizzie seemed strange. I couldn’t understand her being so distraught and depressed over a person that she has never met and who affected her life only briefly. Everything that she thought she knew about Lizzie wasn’t right, so to be so attached to her was odd. Also, Hawthorn sounded younger than seventeen, maybe fourteen or fifteen, especially when it came to her odd fantasies of Lizzie being a werewolf. That fantasy was dwelt on a little too much.

I enjoyed the book and I think it is a great example of a young adult mystery. I just wish that it delivered on the title. It’s not really about Lizzie Lovett and her “hundred lies”, which I found disappointing. Still, I think this book should be on everyone’s “to read” list this year, especially for YA fans.

I want to thank NetGalley for providing me with a copy of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett in exchange for this honest review.

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett on Goodreads.
Purchase The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

